February 15, 2019

Michigan’s New Minimum Wage to Take Effect in March

Effective March 29, 2019, Michigan’s hourly minimum wage is to rise to $9.45 from $9.25, and its tipped-worker wage is to rise to $3.59 from $3.52.

The increase is the result of a measure (S.B. 1171) that was signed Dec. 14 by then-governor Rick Snyder and which is to take effect 91 days after the legislature’s adjournment, which occurred on Dec. 28.

Effective March 29, 2019, Michigan’s hourly minimum wage is to rise to $9.45 from $9.25, and its tipped-worker wage is to rise to $3.59 from $3.52, Michigan’s Licensing and Regulatory Affairs website said Jan. 3, 2019.
 
The increase is the result of a measure (S.B. 1171) that was signed into law Dec.14, 2018, by Gov. Rick Snyder (R). The measure is to take effect 91 days after the legislature’s adjournment, which was scheduled for Dec. 31, but occurred Dec.28.

The increase is to continue to rise in 2020 to $9.65; in 2021 to $9.87; in 2022 to $10.10; in 2023 to $10.33; in 2024 to $10.56; in 2025 to $10.80; in 2026 to $11.04; in 2027 to $11.29; in 2028 to $11.54; in 2029 to $11.79; and in 2030 to $12.05.

In years that the federal Labor Department’s Bureau of Labor Statistics determines the unemployment rate to be at least 8.5 percent for the previous year, the scheduled minimum wage increase is not to take effect. The measure preserves the tipped-employee wage rate of 38 percent of the hourly minimum wage, but it is to increase to $4.58 an hour for tipped employees by 2030.

Reproduced with permission. Published January 7, 2019. Copyright 2019 by The Bureau of National Affairs, Inc. (800-372-1033) <http://www.bna.com>
!
Employee Info
Employee Info
HRCloud Frequently Asked Questions
Learn More